Councils partnering for value and service

Bay of Plenty Regional Council separator Gisborne District Council separator Taupo District Council separator Kawerau District Council separator Opotiki District Council separator Rotorua District Council separator Tauranga City Council separator Western Bay of Plenty District Council separator Whakatane District Council
Home    Resources  /  News Archive

Insurance Partnership Saves Millions

Media Release - 7 April 2015

A partnership between 25 councils is saving Bay of Plenty and Gisborne ratepayers more than $1.4 million in annual insurance premiums.

Local Authority Shared Services groups in the Bay of Plenty, Manawatu-Wanganui and Hawke’s Bay regions, as well as the West Coast Group of Councils, recently teamed up to tender for insurance brokerage and risk management services, achieving more than $3 million in annual savings.

BOPLASS Chair Russell George said the partnership shows how councils can join forces to save money and improve efficiency.

“The Local Authority Shared Services, or LASS, model is paving the way for councils throughout New Zealand to work together to achieve cost savings or service improvements,” he said.
“In this case, we’ve achieved substantial savings in our insurance programs that simply would not have been achieved had all 25 councils acted on their own.

“Through this process, we have achieved the same level of insurance services for our councils, with an even better result for our ratepayers.
“The nine councils in the Bay of Plenty/Gisborne region will make a combined annual saving of $1.4 million through the BOPLASS contract.”

AON New Zealand will provide insurance brokerage and risk management services to BOPLASS, MW LASS and the West Coast Group of Councils, with JLT providing these services to the Hawke’s Bay LASS.

BOPLASS is a Council Controlled Organisation established to promote shared services between local authorities in the Bay of Plenty and Gisborne Regions. The company is owned by: Bay of Plenty Regional Council, Tauranga City Council, and Gisborne, Kawerau, Opotiki, Rotorua, Taupo, Western Bay of Plenty and Whakatane District Councils.